Laser Correction

Excimer Laser

  • LASIK/PRK – for correcting refractive error, so that patients do not need to wear spectacles any more
  • PTK – for treatment and removal of small irregularities on the surface of the cornea

Femtosecond Laser

  • FLACS– enhances precision and accuracy during cataract surgery
  • Bladeless LASIK– avoids using blades (microkeratomes) during LASIK

Frequency doubled NdYAG Laser

  • Used for treating various retinal diseases like diabetic retinopathy, retinal strokes, retinopathy of prematurity (ROP), retinal breaks, etc

PDT Laser

  • Used for the treatment of choroidal neovasular membranes (CNVM) in age related macular degeneration

YAG Laser

  • Capsulotomy– For clearing the opaque layer, behind the IOL, which forms in some patients after cataract surgery
  • Peripheral irodotomy– Prevent further deterioration in some forms (angle closure) of glaucoma.

Frequency doubled NdYAG laser (Retinal laser)

Excimer Laser (LASIK, PRK, PTK)

Femtosecond Laser (laser assisted cataract surgery & bladeless LASIK)

NdYAG Laser

Our Laser specialists

  • Dr. Ratish Chandra Paul


    Secretary, Susrut Eye Foundation and Research Centre

    Specialisation: Cataract & Anterior Segment
    He is one of the most experienced and renowned ‘ophthalmologists in Eastern India. He specializes in refractive cataract surgery and laser assisted cataract surgery. He is the medical director of Vanmukta Eye Bank. He is a faculty in cataract surgery training program at Susrut Eye Foundation and Research Centre.

  • Dr. Nilay Kumar Majumdar

    Dr. Nilay Kumar Majumdar

    MBBS, DO

    Specialization : Glaucoma and Cataract
    Dr. Nilay Kumar Majumdar is the senior glaucoma consultant of Susrut Eye Foundation & Research Centre. He did his MBBS from Calcutta National Medical College & Hospital in 1989 and Diploma in Ophthalmology from Regional Institute of Ophthalmology (RIO), Kolkata in 1993. He has also worked as Research Associate in the ICMR glaucoma project in RIO, Kolkata. He has several papers and presentations at national & international levels. His special interest is in spreading glaucoma awareness as well as in painting.

  • Dr. Prosenjit Mondal


    Specialization :Retina and Vitreous
    Dr. Prosenjit Mondal completed his MBBS from R.G.Kar Medical College, Kolkata & MS from GSVM Medical College, Kanpur. He has done fellowship in Vitreoretinal Surgery from Aravind Eye Hospital & Post Graduate Institute Of Ophthalmology. Subsequently he worked as medical officer at Aravind Eye Hospital, Pondicherry. Dr. Mondal can perform scleral buckling, sutureless trans-conjunctival pars plana vitrectomy, diabetic vitrectomy, macular hole, intraocular foreign body removal, endophthalmitis & scleral fixated IOL. He has special interest in retinopathy of prematurity.

  • Dr. Anirudhha Maiti

    MBBS, DO (Gold Medalist), DNB, FRVS, FICO, MRCSEd

    Specialization :Retina and Vitreous
    After MBBS from Calcutta National Medical College in 2000, completed Diploma in Ophthalmology from Regional Institute of Ophthalmology, Kolkata. This was followed by DNB & long term vitreoretinal fellowship from Mumbai. He has multiple publications and presentations in international & national forums along with instruction courses in ASRS , AIOS & OSWB Conferences. His list of awards include Dr Anutosh Dutta Gold Medal, 2005 for DO, AIOS Quiz winner 2008, the Young Researchers Award in AIOS 2010, IJO Gold Award for best publication in Indian Journal of Ophthalmology 2012, Fellow of International Council of Ophthalmology (FICO), 2012, Dr K P Roy Memorial Award and Dr B K Mitra Memorial Award for best paper presentation in State Annual Conference 2012 & 2013 , AIOS APOS K Vengala Rao Award for best paper in Comprehensive Ophthalmology in All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) Annual Conference 2015, best poster in 2017 OSWB annual conference. Recipient of HONOR Award from American Society of Retina Specialists in 2018 for outstanding academic contribution in ASRS. Received International Ophthalmic Heroes of India from AIOS in 2019. Awarded MRCSEd (Ophthalmology) from Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh in 2019. He was the PG Education Committee Chairman and Joint Secretary of Ophthalmological Society of West Bengal. Presently he is the Scientific Committee Chairman of OSWB from 2019-2020.

  • Dr. Sangeeta Roy


    Specialization :Retina and Vitreous
    Dr. Sangeeta Roy has done her MBBS from Nil Ratan Sircar Medical College and Hospital in 2008. She has completed her MD (Ophthalmology) from Dr. Rajendra Prasad Centre for Ophthalmic Sciences (AIIMS) in 2012. She was awarded with the Bodhraj Sabharwal gold medal for best post graduate student (2012). She joined as a senior resident in the vitreoretina services in AIIMS in 2012. She was awarded with the fellowship of ‘International College of Ophthalmology in 2014. Previously she had worked as a vitreoretina consultant in Grewal Eye Institute, Chandigarh. She has several papers in indexed and non indexed journals.

  • Dr. Alok Agrawal

    Dr. Alok Agarwal

    MBBS, MS, PhD, FMRF (Uvea), FSNEC (Uvea)

    Specialization : Cataract, Medical Retina and Uvea
    Dr. Alok Agrawal graduated in 2003. After his undergraduate degree he went and did a long-term observership in different eye hospitals in USA. He received his postgraduate degree from India in 2008 and Ph.D. in Ophthalmology in 2011. He did his long term fellowship training in Uveitis in 2008 at Sankara Nethralaya, India and later has acquired a wealth of experience in managing patients with a variety of complex ocular inflammatory diseases after doing another International Clinical Fellowship in Ocular Immunology & Inflammation from Singapore National Eye Center, Singapore in 2010. Dr. Alok’s uveitis research interests are mainly in Vogt-Koyanagi Harada disease, cytomegalovirus infection in the immunocompetent patients. Dr. Alok’s another passion is in uveitic cataract surgery.